What is perfect? What is beautiful? What is life?

I want perfection in my life,

From my head, to my soul, to my beating heart.

I want perfection in the world,

From the sky, to the deepest sea.

 

Beauty is a question,

Mystery creates the beautiful,

Questions and answers, clip the wings of imagination,

So never answer why?

 

I don’t believe in God,

And I have no faith in Science.

They give reason, meaning, they try to make me understand,

But art is the lie, that makes me realise the truth.

If you show me the perfect fact

I’ll show you a beautiful dream.

If you show me the perfect fact

I’ll show you your fantasy.

But don’t follow me,

Because I’m lost too

Wait for the silence,

Wait for the dawn.

 

By Charlie Murdoch

Leave a Reply

